Mapping my maternal mtDNA and paternal Y-DNA

Well, the results of my Dad’s mtDNA (his maternal mtDNA) test came through a short while ago. Needless to say, we were all quite excited. Exciting an 80+ year old man who traveled the world throughout his naval career and lived live to the full.  So I was pretty happy to give him that experience. As the only surviving child of my grandmother, my father was the last direct link to her maternal DNA.

As with all things, there were surprises. My grandmother’s maternal mtDNA has, hands down, traveled the furthest. Australia’s Aboriginal population?  Nope, we definitely didn’t see that one coming! The journey from the Horn of Africa to Australia over 50,000 or so years or so simply boggles the brain.

Nor did we have any idea of her ancient Hebrew ancestry. From Yemen to India,  to Ethiopia, North Africa and the Middle East – and Poland – my grandmother’s genetics have returned results for every major and minor Jewish populations in these regions.

The other surprise was the absolute lack of any Native American genes, at least on her mother’s side…however, I’m still searching for a direct make descendant of George Henry Roane (born 1805 and resident in Varina, Henrico County, Virginia) to take a Y DNA test. So there still could be Native American blood via her Roane ancestors. Time will eventually tell.

Truth, it turns out, is far more interesting than fiction.

I tend to make handy lists of things.  This time around, I thought I’d provide an illustration outlining my various DNA results.

So to wrap this up (until the results of my maternal grandfather’s Y DNA are in!), here’s a summary of my genetic makeup:

Arab populations (all populations): 20%

Central Asian (including Russian Siberia): 12%

Jewish (all populations): 12%

Chinese (including Tibetan & South Korean Chinese populations): 12%

North African & Northwest African (non-Arab populations): 10%

Sub-Saharan African: 8%

Austria, Poland & The Balkans: 5%

Swedish: 8%

Italian: 8%

Iberian (Spain & Portugal): 4%

Other: 1%

I can wait to start visiting some of these far-flung places! And not as a tourist, but living as part of the community for a few weeks to gain a better understanding of where my ancient ancestors came from, their cultures, customs and traditions.

Leave a Reply

