DNA stories: The Craig Cobb experience

There’s a video doing the rounds online…one that looks set to go viral if those YouTube views are to be believed. I’m posting about it because it follows on quite nicely from my previous post about what constitutes racial identity.  It also made me chuckle.

I’ve shared my thought about my own DNA tests and the surprises they had in store for me (https://genealogyadventures.wordpress.com/tag/dna/). I wouldn’t say I was shocked as that would imply that I thought one cultural group is better than another, which I don’t.  My parents and wider family can take the kudos for my inclusive view of people. People are people – that’s how I was raised and I’m mighty thankful for it. I was surprised in the way a person is who just didn’t expect to receive some really interesting information.

I kind of feel for Cobb, I honestly do.  Talk about the universe taking a hammer to a person’s world view – and in such a vivid and public manner. True, he did put himself up for it…but still! In the video below, he was only ever going to respond in one way for the cameras. Something tells me Cobb and Tricia had a different calibre of conversation off camera. I wonder what his thoughts on race are now that he’s had an opportunity to really digest his DNA discoveries.

I’m coming round to the idea of DNA testing babies at birth and having that information readily available to them. Is it a way to bring human beings together and eradicate prejudices? What are your thoughts?

Comments about racial superiority, ‘purity’ or rude comments about Mr Cobb won’t be published. Neither is helpful or warranted.

For those of you not familiar with Craig Cobb, Wikipedia is as good a source as any: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Craig_Cobb

2 Comments

Filed under ancestry, genealogy, Race & Diversity

2 responses to “DNA stories: The Craig Cobb experience

  1. Ray Plenty

    Just to note that the DNA company that did the testing only identifies like 175 markers. Many of these happen to be ancient genes from when we left Africa. It is a great marketing tool, because many Americans do want to claim multi-ethnicity, but it is not accurate science. This guy would be better off taking another test which does a million markers, or even a full genome done. Even then, PCA is speculative. If he has had roots in America for hundreds of years, there is a possibility he has some African in his autosomal. But it is likely to be closer to 1% or less….

    I am not saying the guy does not have African ancestors, as I truely believe the “out of Africa” theory, but I doubt he has recent African ancestry.

    If anything, it is news stories like this that give a bad impression about DNA testing companies. It is likely the producers of the show deliberatly picked the testing company known to give false ethnicity results just for the shock value.

  2. I love your idea of DNA tests at birth to help make our world a little better. You have a nice site. I’m checking out other genealogy sites before I start my own. I must say, not much on Word Press, where I already have writing and photog sites. I still think this is where I will start…

Leave a Reply

