Eurogenes DNA analysis and African DNA results

Like the MDLP test, the Eurogenes DNA analysis tool hosted on Gedmatch was developed to largely analyze European-DNA. With that said, it does provide some very interesting insights into non-European genetic inheritances. On the whole, I found that the Eurogenes tools provided a deeper and more meaningful non-European DNA analysis than the MDLP test for a person with a very mixed genetic background (cue: that would be me).

One rather cool inclusion within Eurogenes is an Amerindian component that includes a five native reference populations from North and Central America. This component should be useful for users from the Americas who are wondering about an Amerindian admixture. Indeed, for the first time in any DNA analysis I’ve done, I’m showing trace results of an Amerindian genetic inheritance. Sadly, there’s no indication of what Amerindian tribe(s) comprise these result.

Of all the Gedmatch-hosted DNA analysis tools I’ve used, the Eurogenes K36 Admixture Proportions analysis is the one that I’m the most excited about. I’d still say the results could be more finessed by splitting “West African” into Northwest Africa and West Africa. Some might say this is just semantics; the proverbial splitting of hairs. However, this finessing of the analytical results would better enable me to measure how the Berbers and Tuaregs of Northwest Africa and the West African Bantu-speaking tribes contribute to my DNA profile.  And now, as it so happens, the West African Jewish results in my DNA – a previously unknown component of my genetic makeup. As it stands, with this test, this differentiation is impossible to assess.

Still, compared to the MDLP test (which wasn’t designed to measure specific African populations), this is a step in the right direction for people who have an African heritage.

Each test below appears to be skewed towards certain populations, based on the reference samples for each analysis. That’s all I can say for now. There really isn’t much supporting information on the different nature of each test nor what, exactly, they’re measuring in terms of populations. Logic says each test must be measuring something different – hence the reason for its existence. I’ll continue to search what the differences are and share them when I know them.

Eurogenes K36 Admixture Proportions

Eurogenes-K36-Admixture-Proportions

Population
Amerindian 0.66%
Arabian
Armenian 0.32%
Basque 0.36%
Central_African 0.43%
Central_Euro 1.74%
East_African 5.29%
East_Asian
East_Balkan 0.20%
East_Central_Asian
East_Central_Euro 1.07%
East_Med
Eastern_Euro 2.56%
Fennoscandian 0.63%
French 1.85%
Iberian 7.32%
Indo-Chinese
Italian 8.34%
Malayan
Near_Eastern 1.32%
North_African
North_Atlantic 4.91%
North_Caucasian 0.51%
North_Sea 6.33%
Northeast_African
Oceanian 0.38%
Omotic
Pygmy 4.16%
Siberian
South_Asian 0.15%
South_Central_Asian 1.30%
South_Chinese
Volga-Ural
West_African 49.08%
West_Caucasian 1.09%
West_Med

One note regarding the above. I know that I have a significant Egyptian heritage from my maternal and paternal lines. So I would naturally expect Egypt to fall within the East African results. So I’m puzzled at the absence of any Egyptian results in this category.

The test below was designed to analyze Ashkenazi Jewish admixtures. This is a difficult admixture to analyze for a myriad of reasons. I’d suggest reading about the parameters of this test which you can do here: http://bga101.blogspot.com/2012/09/eurogenes-ashkenazim-ancestry-test-files.html

Jtest Admixture Proportions

Jtest-Admixture-Proportions

Population
South Baltic 2.69%
Eastern Europe 2.83%
North Central Europe 8.63%
Atlantic 9.80%
Western Mediterranean 3.22%
Ashkenazi 6.97%
Eastern Mediterranean 3.10%
West Asian 2.03%
Middle Eastern 1.41%
South Asian 1.46%
East African 10.86%
East Asian
Siberian 0.52%
West African 46.47%

A note about the above: You learn something new every day. I remember how surprised I was when I discovered Indian Jewish DNA in my results. I learned that India was home to an ancient Jewish community. Now I’ve discovered that West Africa also had an ancient Jewish community: the Jews of the Bilad al-Sudan (אַהַל יַהוּדּ בִּלַדּ אַל סוּדָּן).

There were West African Jewish communities who were connected to known Jewish communities from the Middle East, North Africa, or Spain and Portugal (what we would term Sephardic Jews) – as well as trading and living alongside the Berbers. Various historical records attest to their presence at one time in the Ghana, Mali, and Songhai empires, then called the Bilad as-Sudan from the Arabic meaning Land of the Blacks. These are people and places I have ancient genetic links to.

Jews from Spain, Portugal, and Morocco in later years also formed communities off the coast of Senegal and on the Islands of Cape Verde. These communities continued to exist for centuries – but have since disappeared due to changing social conditions, migration and the Trans-Atlantic Slave trade. A lost tribe if ever there was one. You can read more about the Western African Jewish community and its history here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jews_of_Bilad_el-Sudan

Eurogenes K13

euroegenes-13

Population  Key:

North European – Lithuania
West African – Nigeria
Mediterranean – Sardinia
Northeast African – Ethiopia Oromo
North Eurasian – Central Siberia
South Asian – South India
Southwest Asian – Bedouin
Pygmy – Mbuti Pygmy
Caucasus – Georgia
East Siberian – Koryaks
East Asian – Eastern China
Amerindian – South America
West Central Asian – Balochistan

Population
North_Atlantic 17.98%
Baltic 6.20%
West_Med 4.73%
West_Asian 3.07%
East_Med 7.01%
Red_Sea 0.73%
South_Asian 0.93%
East_Asian
Siberian
Amerindian 1.15%
Oceanian 0.98%
Northeast_African 2.59%
Sub-Saharan 54.62%

Eurogenes EUtest V2 K15 Admixture Proportions

Eurogenes-EUtest-V2-K15-Admixture-Proportions

Population
North_Sea 10.70%
Atlantic 13.45%
Baltic 3.65%
Eastern_Euro 0.78%
West_Med 2.29%
West_Asian 4.28%
East_Med 3.28%
Red_Sea 1.44%
South_Asian 0.69%
Southeast_Asian
Siberian
Amerindian 0.91%
Oceanian 0.88%
Northeast_African 2.53%
Sub-Saharan 55.13%

Eurogenes K9b Admixture Proportions

Eurogenes-K9b-Admixture-ProportionsPopulation Key:

South Asian – South India
Caucasus – Georgia
Southwest Asian – Bedouin
North Amerindian + Arctic – Northwest America
Siberian – Central Siberia
Mediterranean – Sardinia
East Asian – Eastern China
West African – Nigeria
North European – Lithuania

Population
Southwest_Asian 6.75%
Native_American 1.18%
Northeast_Asian 0.10%
Mediterranean 8.52%
North_European 26.00%
Southeast_Asian 0.46%
Oceanian 0.56%
South_African 3.09%
Sub-Saharan_African 53.34%

Eurogenes K9 Admixture Proportions

Eurogenes-K9-Admixture-Proportions

Population
South Asian 0.95%
Caucasus 7.51%
Southwest Asian 1.48%
North Amerindian + Arctic 0.82%
Siberian
Mediterranean 11.32%
East Asian
West African 57.99%
North European 19.93%

Eurogenes K10 Admixture Proportions

Eurogenes-K10-Admixture-Proportions

Population Key:

South Asian – South India
Caucasus – Georgia
Southwest Asian – Bedouin
North Amerindian + Arctic – Northwest America
Siberian – Central Siberia
Mediterranean – Sardinia
East Asian – Eastern China
West African – Nigeria
East European – Belarus
North Atlantic – Ireland

Population
South Asian 0.89%
Caucasus 7.48%
Southwest Asian 1.48%
North Amerindian + Arctic 0.81%
Siberian
Mediterranean 6.95%
East Asian
West African 57.98%
East European 4.33%
North Atlantic 20.07%

Eurogenes K11 Admixture Proportions

Eurogenes-K11-Admixture-ProportionsPopulation key

South Asian – South India
Caucasus – Georgia
Southwest Asian – Bedouin
North Amerindian + Arctic – Northwest America
Siberian – Central Siberia
Mediterranean – Sardinia
East Asian – Eastern China
West African – Nigeria
Volga-Ural – Western Volga
South Baltic – Lithuania
North Atlantic – Ireland

Population
South Asian 0.89%
Caucasus 7.46%
Southwest Asian 1.45%
North Amerindian + Arctic 0.80%
Siberian
Mediterranean 6.67%
East Asian
West African 57.98%
Volga-Ural 0.69%
South Baltic 4.63%
North Atlantic 19.44%

Eurogenes K12 Admixture Proportions

Eurogenes-K12-Admixture-ProportionsPopulation Key:

South Asian – South India
Caucasus – Georgia
Southwest Asian – Bedouin
North Amerindian + Arctic – Northwest America
Siberian – Central Siberia
Mediterranean – Sardinia
East Asian – Eastern China
West African – Nigeria
Volga-Ural – Western Volga
South Baltic – Lithuania
Western European – Western Ireland
North Sea – Southern Norway

Population
South Asian 0.87%
Caucasus 7.28%
Southwest Asian 1.41%
North Amerindian + Arctic 0.79%
Siberian
Mediterranean 6.00%
East Asian
West African 57.97%
Volga-Ural 0.26%
South Baltic 3.54%
Western European 11.71%
North Sea 10.17%

Eurogenes K12b Admixture Proportions

Eurogenes-K12b-Admixture-ProportionsPopulation Key:

Western European – Cornwall
Siberian – Central Siberia
East African – Masaai
West Central Asian – Balochistan
South Asian – South India
West African – Nigeria
Caucasus – Georgia
Finnish – Eastern Finland
Mediterranean – Sardinia
Southwest Asian – Bedouin
North European – Lithuania
East Asian – Eastern China

Population
Western European 14.86%
Siberian 0.14%
East African 5.19%
West Central Asian 1.12%
South Asian 1.48%
West African 52.54%
Caucasus 6.04%
Finnish 2.60%
Mediterranean 7.17%
Southwest Asian 1.85%
North European 6.79%
East Asian 0.23%

A note about the above: Well, you could imagine my surprise when I saw Cornwall in these results. Considering I loved there for nearly 13 years – and never had a clue. I absolutely loved it. To say I felt an affinity with the place would be an understatement. What I really think this is saying is that there is an English Celtic genetic inheritance. Like the Welsh, the Cornish are the last remnants of the Celtic peoples who inhabited England.

If I am indeed a descendant from the specific Roane family line that I think I am, then this result would make sense. This line of Roanes is descended from Robert the Bruce of Scotland and Edward I “Longshanks” of England – both of whom had genetic links to Wales and Cornwall.

EUtest Admixture Proportions

EUtest-Admixture-Proportions

Population
Southern Baltic 2.76%
Eastern European 3.26%
Northern & Central European 9.15%
Atlantic 10.71%
Eastern Mediterranean 4.08%
Western Mediterranean 4.89%
Western Asian 3.11%
Middle Eastern 2.57%
Southern Asian 1.47%
East African 11.02%
Eastern Asian
Siberian 0.56%
West African 46.41%

Eurogenes Hunter-Gatherer vs. Farmer Admixture Proportions

Eurogenes-Hunter-Gatherer-vs.-Farmer-Admixture-ProportionsPopulation Key:

Anatolian Farmer – Western Caucasus
Baltic Hunter Gatherer – Lithuania
Middle Eastern Herder – Bedouin
East Asian Farmer – Eastern China
South American Hunter Gatherer – South America
South Asian Hunter Gatherer – South India
North Eurasian Hunter Gatherer – Central Siberia
East African Pastoralist – Masaai
Oceanian Hunter Gatherer – Papua New Guinea
Mediterranean Farmer – Sardinia
Pygmy Hunter Gatherer – Mbuti Pygmy
Bantu Farmer – West Africa

Population
Anatolian Farmer 7.14%
Baltic Hunter Gatherer 16.85%
Middle Eastern Herder 1.93%
East Asian Farmer
South American Hunter Gatherer 0.87%
South Asian Hunter Gatherer 0.94%
North Eurasian Hunter Gatherer
East African Pastoralist 4.57%
Oceanian Hunter Gatherer 0.56%
Mediterranean Farmer 13.42%
Pygmy Hunter Gatherer 3.99%
Bantu Farmer 49.73%

My overall feelings on the Eurogenes tests is that the DNA analysis they provide are useful for people with a significant African genetic inheritance test. More so than the MDPL test.  The K13 test is especially useful.

My main note is I think the results for West Africa are too skewed and warrant closer scrutiny and development.  In all my other genetic tests, Nigeria only contributes a very marginal amount to my overall genetic makeup.  However, to look at my Eurogenes results, one would be forgiven for believing that Nigeria was my ancestral African homeland. So this is something to be mindful of.

Again, this could mirror the point I made in my previous post about the MDPL test:  African data sets tend to get lumped together within the analytical database. As such, the tests that I’ve been using to-date don’t provide a true representation of Africa’s heterogeneous populations as they do with European and Asian populations.

8 thoughts on “Eurogenes DNA analysis and African DNA results

  1. You mentioned Cape Verdean Jews (Jews from Cape Verde Islands), we have not disappeared as you stated. Although religious identity has disappeared the cultural and heritage connection still lives on in the people of the islands.

  2. Maybe you can help me with a couple of curiosities. I have pulled all of the Gedmatch admixtures as well and find it all quite confusing – because of so many variant results. However the consensus does seem to be that my African genes are mostly West African, but there in lies the curiosity. My mtdna origins from FTDNA were originally mostly hits from Amhara and Afar, and then a few West African Nations. Now four years later they all changed to Cuba, Grenada, Algeria, Mexico and USA. However my mtdna is L3d. I asked Family Tree about the change and they told me to wait for my Autosomal results, and that the more people that get tested the wider the pool and more accurate results. My mother is African-American – her great great grandparents were obviously slaves in Alabama (her mother from Montgomery/her father from Mobile). My Father was a Louisiana Creole on both sides of his family. My guess is that my French-Basque-Mediterranean ancestry come from my father. The Swedish, Finnish, Colombian, Portuguese are curiosities though – information gained through Gedmatch admixture Oracles. As stated, my main curiosity, is why the high percentage of West Africa? I’m 49% African – but 44% is from West Africa according to FTDNA, that is hard to believe. The remainder is, 44% European, 4% New World, 2% East Asian and 1% Central/South Asian. There definitely needs to be a better breakdown of African Nation proportions for African Americans – I most certainly agree with you. Just because we are African-Americans doesn’t mean that our ancestors were all from West Africa.

    • Hello Lana

      Thank you for the comment. I’m in the same boat in terms of West African DNA. Two services I’ve used put my West African DNA in the single digits. While the various Gedmatch admix tools gave a result of a whopping 45% – 48%. Again, I think this has to do with the free datasets the boffins who crated these tool could access. I think it actually constitutes a general lack of understanding of how African DNA evolved within Africa. Africa has its own ancient internal trade routes which stretch back into the early eons of time. And where there are goods traded, so is DNA.

      That’s been one of the great experiences of using Genebase, for me. It isn’t a user friendly service (it doesn’t provide a chart with nice little percentage breakdowns). But then again, it was never designed to be. What it does, and does very well, is provide a breakdown of each chromosome and matches it against a huge dataset of people and reports percentage comparisons, chromosome by chromosome. So you need to have some great mathematical skills to get an overview of what culture has contributed what percentage to your overall DNA mix.

      As for your results, I can offer these as routes to investigate. If there is any Norman, English, Scottish or Irish in your family lineage, this may very well answer your question about Finnish and Swedish DNA. I think historians are only beginning to grasp how far and wide the Vikings travelled and traded.

      The Columbian probably stems from a shared African ancestor. The Portuguese were huge slavers. It’s not an uncommon result among African descended peoples in the New World, for obvious reasons.

      This is just off the top of my head. But I hope it gives you some avenues to explore in your search.

      • My Father’s mother’s maiden name thought to be of French origin, I came to know is actually a Celtic name from Bretagne France, so the Swedish/Finnish could be from there, but could also be from my mother’s side too, as for most slavery seems to be a dead end – my great great grandmother’s maiden name was Harris – so I’m guessing that was the slave name.  I find it all extremely intriguing and extremely confusing at the same time.  Thank You for all of your insights.    

  3. “I know that I have a significant Egyptian heritage from my maternal and paternal lines. So I would naturally expect Egypt to fall within the East African results”. Egypt has nothing to do with East Africa, it means that you have Somalian or Ethiopian heritage and for the Jtest Admixture Proportions they include Egyptians with Mediterraneans (Egypt is Mediterranean country if you know) or Middle East. Egyptians and other people in North Africa are Caucasian nations and Egypt is located in North Africa and West Asia and The Egyptian DNA has nothing to do with Sub-Saharan African DNA. I wonder how did you get your Egyptian DNA as according to my information the first Egyptians started to immigrate to USA maybe 70 or 90 years ago. Your results means that you have are heavily mixed with West Africans (Sub-Saharan or Black Africa) not North Africans as according to what i saw you scored 0 for North_African _. Thanks for this interesting topic my friend and brother in humanity.

    • Hello Omar. Thank you for your comment. I’ve written extensively about this, chronicling the journey in understanding my genetic inheritance. I’d invite you to click on the “Human Genetics” link and work yuor way through those posts.

      However, your comment perfectly illustrates my point regarding some of the free dna analysis tools out there and the data sets that they use.

      Again, if you read the previous posts, you will see that I have no answer for how and why there is Egyptian and North African DNA in my genome. And when I say Egyptian, I mean Egyptian. I do not mean Somali, or Ethiopian, or Sudanese or any other group of people. Indeed, I now have 3 Eyptian genetic matches on Genebase. To clarify, because I ask them, all 3 said they were solely Egyptian on both parents’ sides of their families going back at least 6 generations that they were aware of.I can only take their word for that. Genebase estimates that our shared ancestry was between 10 to 15 generations ago (depending on the person I matched).

      There are parts of your comment I disagree with. Modern Egypt may be distinct from sub-Saharan Africa. I’d argue that this wasn’t always the case. However, I don’t want to get into what is and isn’t African. As far as I’m concerned, if a county is in Africa, then its peoples are African. No one people are any better than any other. No one African admixture is better than any other. That kind of thinking is the reason why the world is in the mess that’s its in.

      What I will say is that I know my admixtures. When I say I have ‘X’, then it’s ‘X’ and not ‘Y’, or ‘Z’, or ‘A’, or ‘B’. It’s not open to interpretation. Now, with that said, the sole reason I continue to mention admixtures that include Tuaregs, Berbers, Egyptians, Omanis, Yeminis. etc, is solely because I’m trying to wrap my head around why these are in my DNA at all. I expected western Coastal African. I expected sub-Saharan. I don’t write about these as often only because they didn’t come as a revelation. I’d have been very surprised if they weren’t a part of my genome. I do not place value judgement on any part of my genetics. I never have and I never will All of it is pretty incredible. And all of it has gone into making me. Again, I prefer to use my time investigating – and trying to understand – the more unexpected results. Working through that is an education in and of itself in the form of research and trying to untangle the complex history of Africa itself.

      And again, this post is a critique of data sets, using a fraction of my own commercially obtained results as a quick example. It should be read in that light.

Leave a Reply

