The Folly of Using Small Segments as Proof in Genealogical Research, Part One

Just when I was on the verge of publishing a series of posts based on recent intensive research findings…well, the brown stuff hit the fan in America. So much so that, for me, it seems terribly indulgent for me to post about my family’s genealogy. Suffice to say my genealogy and family history mojo is a bit askew. No, me not posting genealogical and family history materials  isn’t going to affect the current social climate at play in the US one way or another. It’s my own thing; my headspace.

So, while I won’t be publishing family history related posts in the present climate, I will post general finds –  items of interest that appear on my radar.

There’s a blog post by genetic genealogist Cee Cee More that certainly qualifies as just that. For those of you unfamiliar with Ms Moore, she is a an independent professional genetic genealogist and television consultant for the PBS series Finding Your Roots.

In her post entitled The Folly of Using Small Segments as Proof in Genealogical Research, Part One, Cee Cee raises the question:  just how reliable are small DNA fragments when it comes to genealogy research? Not very, as it turns out – or at least not in a manner that’s definitive.

It’s a great post. It’s definitely worth a read.

The Folly of Using Small Segments as Proof in Genealogical Research, Part One: http://www.yourgeneticgenealogist.com/2014/12/the-folly-of-using-small-segments-as.html 

Leave a comment

Filed under Genetics

Leave a Reply

